26 June 2018

VFF Livestock Council holds election

VICTORIAN FARMERS FEDERATION CEO and Returning Officer, Stephen Sheridan, has announced elections for the VFF Livestock Council.

Nominations were called for Livestock President and Vice-President. Nominations were also called for regional councilors in Wimmera, Corangamite, North East, East Gippsland and an additional councilor.

No opposing nominations were received for President and Vice-President. As a result, Leonard Vallance and James Kirkpatrick, will be re-appointed unopposed to President and Vice-President respectively at the VFF Annual Conference.

Only one nomination was received for the East Gippsland and North East council positions, so Angus Zilm of East Gippsland and Peter Star of the North East will be elected unopposed as new councilors.

Multiple nominations were received for Wimmera, Corangamite and additional councilor, so the VFF Livestock Group will be running elections for these three council positions.

Michael Craig and Peter Tischler will be contesting the Wimmera position. Chris Draffin and Scott Young will be contesting the Corangamite position. James Tehan, Steve Harrison and Peter Tischler will be contesting the additional councilor position.

Candidate biographies for the contested positions are currently available on the Victorian Farmers Federation website.

Voting will be conducted electronically and via postal ballot for members without email addresses. The ballots will be posted from 2 nd of July and must be posted back to the Returning Officer by 13th of July.

Electronic voting will begin on 9 th of July and will close 18th of July. Members will also be able to vote in person on the first day of the VFF Annual Conference at the Mercure Ballarat Hotel & Convention Centre on the 19th of July.

The results will be announced on the second day of the VFF Annual Conference on the 20th of July. The results of the VFF President and Vice-President elections will be announced at the same time.

The Victorian Farmers Federation welcomes the interest in elected positions, thanks the candidates for taking on the challenge of standing for a position, and wishes them all well in the upcoming election.

Media Contacts:
Stephen Sheridan, CEO and Returning Officer, (03) 9207 5503
Heather Smillie, Stakeholder Policy & Advocacy Officer, 0400 874 589

About the VFF
The Victorian Farmers Federation is an active, powerful lobby group dedicated to the interests of farmers and making a difference to communities. With a strong record of successful political and industry advocacy and leadership, the VFF has generated substantial benefits for the agriculture sector since its formation in 1979.

The VFF consists of eight commodity groups; dairy (United Dairyfarmers of Victoria), livestock, grains, horticulture, chicken meat, eggs, pigs and Flowers Victoria – and expert committees representing; water, land management, agricultural and veterinarian chemicals, farm business and rural development and workplace relations.

VFF members lead each of these groups and committees with the support of Melbourne and regionally based staff. As a team we provide the power to effectively influence all levels of government on the wide range of issues that impact on modern farming. The VFF has approximately 200 branches across the state. Our vision is to create an environment for farmers that enables profitable, safe and sustainable production, within a community that values and respects the farm sector.